Hollis and Helen Baright Public Library

5555 S. 77th St.

Ralston, NE  68127-3645

402-331-7636

402-331-1168 fax

Map


Monday - Thursday

Friday - Saturday

Sunday

10:00 am - 9:00 pm

10:00 am - 5:00 pm

  1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Access your library card account
Home | Our History | Catalog | New Items | Databases | City of Ralston | Contact Us | Library Information

 

 

 

Databases and Suggested Websites

All links on this page, except Ancestry.com, can be accessed from your home computer. Database access is available to any Baright Public Library card holder.  Ask a librarian for a list of usernames and passwords for home access. Databases flagged as NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess databases can also be accessed using a valid Nebraska Drivers License or State ID number. Ask a librarian if you have any questions about using the links of this page.

Library Databases

Ancestry - Search international records for genealogy data; distributed by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com. Accessible only in the library. Access only available in the library.

AtoZdatabases - Reference and marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Accessible from home using your Baright Library card number.

Auto Repair Reference Center - Automotive repair information on domestic and imported vehicles, 1945 to present. Available from home.

Biography Ref Bank Select - In-depth, full-text profiles of people from ancient times to the present. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

Books in Print - In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

CultureGrams - Cultural information on the world's countries and peoples. Available from home.

eLibrary - Full-text access to magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, pictures, and audio/video files.

Fiction Connection - Browse fiction by many subjects, find similar books. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

FirstSearch - Use to access a collection of databases, including Worldcat. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

HeritageQuest - Genealogy data. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

LearnATest - Practice tests and test preparation for academic, civil service, and professional tests. Available from home.

OmniFile Full Text Select - Full-text articles on many subjects. NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

Non-Fiction Connection - Search or browse non-fiction by many subjects, find similar books NebraskAccess databaseNebraskAccess

NoveList Plus - Search or browse fiction by many subjects, find similar books. Available from home.

Universal Class - Choose from over 500 online continuing education classes. Register as a first-time user or sign in to your account.

World Book Web - Content from The World Book and additional databases, including living green, biography, and Spanish and French versions. Available from home using your Baright Library card number.

WorldCat - Books, web resources, and other materials cataloged by libraries worldwide. Available from home and through FirstSearch

Top of page

 

Suggested Websites

Careers / Jobs    •      Government    •    Health & Wellness    •    Legal    •    Literature & E-books    •    Local News    •    PDF Converter    

 

Careers / Jobs / Employment Assistance

Career OneStop - Sponsored by the U. S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration; includes help with jobs, resumes, interviews, career choices. - Website

CareerLink.com - Focuses on jobs in NE, IA, SD, ND. - Website

Nebraska Dept. of Labor - Information for workers, unemployed, and employers, including filing for unemployment and receiving job services. - Website

Omaha World-Herald Marketplace Jobs - Jobs advertised through the Omaha World-Herald. - Website

 

Top of page

 

Government

City

City of Ralston

County

City of Omaha and Douglas County - combined website.

State

Nebraska.gov - Official website for Nebraska.

Nebraska State Government Publications - Publications from Nebraska state agencies. - Website

Nebraska State Statutes - Search the Nebraska State Statutes, Constitution, and Uniform Commercial Code. - Website

Federal

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services - For new immigrants as well as those wanting to become U.S. citizens. - Website

USA.gov - Search all US government agencies, departments, institutes at one time. - Website

 

Top of page

 

 

Health & Wellness

Healthfinder - Consumer health information. - Website

MEDLINEplus - Consumer information about health, drugs, physicians, hospitals. - Website

Network of Care for Behavioral Health - Region 6 (includes Sarpy Co. and Douglas Co.) - Information about behavioral health services, laws, news, etc. from the Nebraska Dept. of Health & Human Services. - Website

Nebraska 211 - Searchable database of health and social services agencies available in Nebraska. - Website

NOAH, New York Online Access to Health - Consumer health information. - Website

 

Top of page

 

Legal

City of Ralston City Code - Search City Code for Ralston, NE. - Website

Legal Aid Services in Nebraska - Extensive list of online resources for legal information compiled by the Nebraska Library Commission. - Website

Nebraska Judicial Branch - Forms and self-help information for the Nebraska court system. - Website

Nebraska State Statutes - Search the Nebraska State Statutes, Constitution, and Uniform Commercial Code. - Website

 

Top of page

 

Literature

American Library Association's Book and Media Awards - links to many literature and media awards. - Website

Golden Sower Award - outstanding books chosen by Nebraska children. - Website

 

Top of page

 

Local News

Ralston Recorder - Local news.  NOTE:  The library has most issues of the Ralston Recorder, 1960 to the present. - Website

 

Top of page

 

PDF Converter

PrimoPDF - Convert Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and other files to a pdf (portable document format) for easy sharing. - Website

Free Online PDF Converter - Website

 

Top of page

 

Last updated 2/3/2012